Acta Cryst. (1953). 6, 108

The crystallography of cycloheptatriene. By Thomas B. Reed and William N. Lipscomb, School of Chemistry, University of Minnesota, Minnesota, Minnesota, U.S.A.

(Received 23 October 1952)

An attempt has been made to determine the molecular structure of cycloheptatriene (tropilidene) from an X-ray diffraction study of single crystals below the freezing point of -80° C. A cubic phase ($a=10\cdot6\pm0\cdot1$ Å) was found, yielding only five reflections ($F_{200}=14\cdot5$, $F_{210}=16\cdot6$, $F_{211}=11\cdot9$, $F_{220}=1\cdot2$ and $F_{410}=1\cdot2$) in a reciprocal lattice of symmetry O_h . The assumption of eight molecules in this unit cell yields a calculated density of 0.99 g.cm.⁻³. Unfortunately, a simple interpretation of this highly disordered phase was not obtained.

A major transition occurs at about -125° C. during which single crystals are transformed into a powder as the temperature is lowered. As a result, studies of single crystals of this probably ordered phase must await techniques for the growth of single crystals below transition temperatures.

We wish to thank Prof. William Doering for supplying us with the sample, and the Office of Naval Research for support of this research.

Notes and News

Announcements and other items of crystallographic interest will be published under this heading at the discretion of the Editorial Board. Copy should be sent direct to the British Co-editor (R. C. Evans, Crystallographic Laboratory, Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, England).

Acta Crystallographica: important notices

- 1. The Executive Committee has decided that Acta Crystallographica shall henceforth be published monthly. Future issues will therefore appear on the tenth day of each month.
- 2. Readers are reminded that bona fide crystallographers may obtain this journal for their private use at a reduced price. Such subscriptions, at a rate of 60 Danish crowns or \$9 post free, can be accepted only if placed direct with Messrs Ejnar Munksgaard (Nörregade 6, Copenhagen, Denmark) or with the American Institute of Physics (57 E 55th Street, New York 22, N. Y., U. S. A), and must be accompanied by a declaration that the journal will be used solely for the personal purposes of the subscriber. Unless such a declaration is given, correspondence and delay will be involved. Proposals are still awaited from some of the Adhering Bodies and at present it is possible to offer this concession only as follows:

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Denmark, India, Italy, Sweden Crystallographers in these countries should apply to the Secretary of their National Committee:

- F. Machatschki, Mineralogisches Institut der Universität, Vienna.
- R. Van Tassel, Institut royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique, Rue Vautier 31, Brussels.
- E. Tavora, Faculdade Nacional de Filosofia, Av. Pres. Antonio Carlos 40, Rio de Janeiro, D.F.
- A. Tovborg Jensen, Den Kgl. Veterinær- og Landbohøjskoles kemiske Laboratorium, Copenhagen V.
- The Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Scientific Research, North Block, Central Secretariat, New Delhi.
- G. Giacomello, The University, Rome.
- F. E. Wickman, Stockholm 50.

Canada, France, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, U.S.A.

The reduced subscription is available only to members of the following societies:

The Canadian Association of Physicists, the Canadian Institute of Chemistry, the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, the Royal Society of Canada.

Société Chimique de France, Société de Chimie Physique, Société Française de Métallurgie, Société Française de Minéralogie et Cristallographie, Société Française de Physique.

The Crystallographic Society of Japan.

Nederlandsche Chemische Vereeniging, Nederlandsche Natuurkundige Vereeniging.

Det Kgl. Norske Videnskabers Selskab, Norsk Geologisk Forening, Norsk Kjemisk Selskap.

Asociación Española de Cristalografía.

Société Suisse de Mathématique, Société Suisse de Physique, Société Suisse de Chimie, Société Suisse de Minéralogie et de Pétrographie.

The Chemical Society, the Faraday Society, the Institute of Metals, the Institute of Physics, the Iron and Steel Institute, the Mineralogical Society, the Physical Society, the Royal Society.

The American Crystallographic Association.

In placing their orders, subscribers in these countries should state of which society they are members.

Further announcements will be made as soon as it is possible to give details of arrangements in other countries.

Fortieth Anniversary of the Discovery of X-ray Diffraction

1. The fortieth anniversary of the discovery of X-ray diffraction by M. von Laue was celebrated in Brazil on